Featured Article

Study up on churn rate basics to set customer and revenue benchmarks

What’s a good monthly churn rate?

Comment

Warning sign cliff ahead, West fjords, Iceland
Image Credits: Arctic Images (opens in a new window) / Getty Images

Sid Jain

Contributor

Sid is a senior analyst at ChartMogul, a subscription SaaS subscription analytics platform.

More posts from Sid Jain

Churn gets a lot of bad press. Yes, it is complex and confusing, but as a metric, it is helpful.

In the early stages of building a company, churn gives you quick feedback, which other metrics seldom do. Studying churn lets you run tests on your platform and get feedback in a few days or months.

In this post, we dive deep into churn. First, we answer a few key questions: What is churn? What are its different types? And how can it be negative?

Then, we dive into churn benchmarks. We analyze anonymized and aggregated data to answer the question: What is a good churn rate?

So without any further ado, let’s dive in.

What is churn?

Churn is an indicator of the health of your existing subscriber base. In simple terms, churn is the rate at which your SaaS business loses customers or revenue.

From a high level, you can look at churn in two ways:

  1. Customer churn — measures the rate at which customers are leaving your SaaS business.
  2. Revenue churn — measures the rate at which revenue is leaving your SaaS business.

Why look at customer and revenue churn separately?

Depending on the revenue concentration, customer churn can be different from revenue churn. Hence, it’s good to look at both numbers.

For example, imagine you’re running a SaaS business with three customers: A, B and C. Their monthly recurring revenue (MRR) is $20, $30 and $50, respectively (for a total MRR of $100).

Now, one day, C decides to cancel their subscription and churn. So when you calculate your customer churn rate for the month, it will be 33% (as one of three customers churned). But if you calculate your revenue churn rate, it will be 50%. This is because C made up 50% of your MRR.

Types of revenue churn

Let’s dig a little deeper into revenue churn. You can calculate revenue churn in two different ways:

  1. Gross basis — This is called gross MRR churn because it only takes into account the MRR lost (and not MRR gained) from your existing customers. As a reminder, you lose MRR from your existing customers via both churn and downgrades.
  2. Net basis — This is called net MRR churn because you net the MRR lost and gained from your existing subscriber base. So you lose MRR via churn and downgrades, but you also gain MRR via expansion and reactivation. Net MRR churn gives you a more holistic picture of the state of your subscriber base.

Here’s how you calculate your gross and net MRR churn rates:

  • Gross MRR churn rate — (sum of churn and contraction MRR) / (MRR at start of period).
  • Net MRR churn rate — (sum of churn and contraction MRR – sum of expansion an reactivation MRR) / (MRR at start of period).

How can churn be negative?

If you spend a little more time thinking about the churn formulas, you can infer two things:

  1. By definition, gross MRR churn will always be higher than net MRR churn. This is because gross MRR churn only takes into account the MRR lost, while net MRR churn also takes into account MRR gained.
  2. Net MRR churn can be negative. Net MRR chain takes into account both the MRR you lost and gained from existing subscribers. If the MRR gained from existing customers (expansion + reactivation) exceeds the MRR lost (churn contraction), your net MRR churn rate will be negative.

Why is net MRR churn rate called “SaaS nirvana?”

Negative net MRR churn is akin to SaaS nirvana because with each passing month, your existing subscribers become more and more valuable.

In a sense, your business can grow organically as you don’t need to spend any money on acquiring new customers.

What is a good monthly churn rate?

Now that you’ve got a good understanding of churn, let’s explore what makes a good monthly churn rate.

In this section, we’ll look at benchmarks for gross and net MRR churn split by MRR and ARPA bands.

(As a reminder, ARPA is the average revenue per account, i.e., average MRR across all your customers. It’s also known as ARPU or APRC.)

Why look at churn benchmarks by ARPA bands? Well, everything is sort of the same at a given ARPA value. The way you sell, the way you service and the way you retain all depend on your ARPA.

So for metrics such as churn, the best practice is to benchmark your startup in comparison to other businesses within the same ARPA band.

Gross MRR churn benchmarks

The chart below shows the median monthly gross MRR churn rate by ARPA bands. As you’ll notice, the higher the ARPA, the lower the gross MRR churn rate.

For example, companies with ARPA per month in the range of $0-$10 have a monthly gross MRR churn rate of 8.9%. As ARPA increases, the gross MRR churn rate decreases. It goes down to 2.5% for companies with an ARPA per month of over $500.

Why does the gross MRR churn rate decrease as ARPA increases? Because the customer profile changes. At higher ARPA, you start to sell to businesses rather than to consumers. Also, generally, customers make a more informed decision when buying a costlier product and hence churn less.

Monthly gross MRR churn rate by ARPA per month
Image Credits: ChartMogul

In addition to the median, the chart below also shows the 25th and 75th percentiles of the gross MRR churn rate. You can use this data to benchmark your churn rate in comparison to your peers.

SaaS startups with ARPA of less than $100 should target a monthly gross MRR churn rate of under 3.5%, and those with ARPA of more than $100 should target a monthly gross MRR churn rate of under 2.5%.

Monthly gross MRR churn rate by ARPA bands
Image Credits: ChartMogul

Now let’s move on and look at the median gross MRR churn rate split by MRR bands.

At the early stages of growth (less than $10,000 MRR), the median monthly gross MRR churn is high at 8.6%. As companies grow, find product-market fit and home into their customer segment, the churn reduces to about 4%-5% per month. It then stabilizes at that level and doesn’t reduce even when a company grows.

Monthly gross MRR churn rate by MRR bands
Image Credits: ChartMogul

In addition to the median, the chart below also shows you the 25th and 75th percentiles of the gross MRR churn rate by MRR band.

The best companies at any stage of their growth should target a gross MRR churn rate of less than 2.5% per month.

Monthly gross MRR churn rate by MRR bands
Image Credits: ChartMogul

Net MRR churn benchmarks

Now, let’s dive into benchmarks for net MRR churn rate. The chart below shows the net MRR churn rate split by ARPA per month bands.

As is the case with any churn rate versus ARPA graph, here, too, a higher ARPA correlates to a lower net MRR churn rate.

Monthly net MRR churn rate by ARPA bands
Image Credits: ChartMogul

At higher APRA ranges, expansion starts to drive a lot of revenue, which contributes to negative churn.

The impact is so prominent that at higher ARPAs, net negative churn is the norm and not the exception. See the chart below: 53.4% of companies with ARPA higher than $500 have net negative churn.

Percentage of companies with negative net MRR churn by ARPA bands
Image Credits: ChartMogul

Let’s now look at the 25th and 75th percentile of the monthly net MRR churn rate, in addition to the median.

Note that at the higher end of the range, some companies have a net MRR churn rate in excess of 11% per month. That’s too high, in our opinion. You just can’t create a sustainable SaaS business with that level of churn.

Monthly net MRR churn rate by ARPA bands
Image Credits: ChartMogul

A monthly net MRR churn rate of 11% corresponds to losing almost three-quarters (75%) of your existing revenue over the next 12 months. It’s not at all sustainable.

Here is a helpful table that helps you look at the monthly churn and the corresponding yearly churn number.

Table showing monthly to yearly churn calculations
Image Credits: ChartMogul

The formula we use to get the annual churn rate from the monthly churn rate is: annual churn rate = (1– (1 – monthly churn rate)12).

If your business has a high churn rate, you won’t be able to compound your revenue, and the time and money you spent to acquire your customers (customer acquisition cost) will go to waste sooner.

Let’s move on and look at net MRR churn benchmarks by MRR bands. The chart below shows the median monthly net MRR churn rate by MRR bands.

As you’ll notice, the monthly net MRR churn rate is higher in the initial stages of the company, but decreases as the company grows. It stabilizes in the 1%-2% range.

Monthly net MRR churn rate by MRR bands
Image Credits: ChartMogul

In addition to the median, the below chart also shows the 25th and 75th percentile of the net MRR churn rate.

The best SaaS companies should target a net negative churn ( i.e., net MRR churn rate of less than 0%).

Monthly net MRR churn rate by MRR bands
Image Credits: ChartMogul

How can your business achieve negative churn? By building an expansion loop within it. This is the only sustainable way to get to negative churn. No matter what you do, customers are always going to churn. Your job is to increase your revenue from those who stay.

Achieving a net negative churn isn’t a distant dream. It’s very much achievable. In fact, close to a quarter of companies at any MRR range have net negative churn. So aim high and go for it.

Percentage of companies that have negative net MRR churn
Image Credits: ChartMogul

Calculation Methodology: We used anonymized and aggregated data to calculate these aggregates. We calculated the aggregates over a three-month period (January, February and March 2022). We used standard B2B churn formulas for all companies for easier comparability.

More TechCrunch

StrictlyVC events deliver exclusive insider content from the Silicon Valley & Global VC scene while creating meaningful connections over cocktails and canapés with leading investors, entrepreneurs and executives. And TechCrunch…

Meesho, a leading e-commerce startup in India, has secured $275 million in a new funding round.

Meesho, an Indian social commerce platform with 150M transacting users, raises $275M

Some Indian government websites have allowed scammers to plant advertisements capable of redirecting visitors to online betting platforms. TechCrunch discovered around four dozen “gov.in” website links associated with Indian states,…

Scammers found planting online betting ads on Indian government websites

Around 550 employees across autonomous vehicle company Motional have been laid off, according to information taken from WARN notice filings and sources at the company.  Earlier this week, TechCrunch reported…

Motional cut about 550 employees, around 40%, in recent restructuring, sources say

The deck included some redacted numbers, but there was still enough data to get a good picture.

Pitch Deck Teardown: Cloudsmith’s $15M Series A deck

The company is describing the event as “a chance to demo some ChatGPT and GPT-4 updates.”

OpenAI’s ChatGPT announcement: What we know so far

Unlike ChatGPT, Claude did not become a new App Store hit.

Anthropic’s Claude sees tepid reception on iOS compared with ChatGPT’s debut

Welcome to Startups Weekly — Haje‘s weekly recap of everything you can’t miss from the world of startups. Sign up here to get it in your inbox every Friday. Look,…

Startups Weekly: Trouble in EV land and Peloton is circling the drain

Scarcely five months after its founding, hard tech startup Layup Parts has landed a $9 million round of financing led by Founders Fund to transform composites manufacturing. Lux Capital and Haystack…

Founders Fund leads financing of composites startup Layup Parts

AI startup Anthropic is changing its policies to allow minors to use its generative AI systems — in certain circumstances, at least.  Announced in a post on the company’s official…

Anthropic now lets kids use its AI tech — within limits

Zeekr’s market hype is noteworthy and may indicate that investors see value in the high-quality, low-price offerings of Chinese automakers.

The buzziest EV IPO of the year is a Chinese automaker

Venture capital has been hit hard by souring macroeconomic conditions over the past few years and it’s not yet clear how the market downturn affected VC fund performance. But recent…

VC fund performance is down sharply — but it may have already hit its lowest point

The person who claims to have 49 million Dell customer records told TechCrunch that he brute-forced an online company portal and scraped customer data, including physical addresses, directly from Dell’s…

Threat actor says he scraped 49M Dell customer addresses before the company found out

The social network has announced an updated version of its app that lets you offer feedback about its algorithmic feed so you can better customize it.

Bluesky now lets you personalize main Discover feed using new controls

Microsoft will launch its own mobile game store in July, the company announced at the Bloomberg Technology Summit on Thursday. Xbox president Sarah Bond shared that the company plans to…

Microsoft is launching its mobile game store in July

Smart ring maker Oura is launching two new features focused on heart health, the company announced on Friday. The first claims to help users get an idea of their cardiovascular…

Oura launches two new heart health features

Keeping up with an industry as fast-moving as AI is a tall order. So until an AI can do it for you, here’s a handy roundup of recent stories in the world…

This Week in AI: OpenAI considers allowing AI porn

Garena is quietly developing new India-themed games even though Free Fire, its biggest title, has still not made a comeback to the country.

Garena is quietly making India-themed games even as Free Fire’s relaunch remains doubtful

The U.S.’ NHTSA has opened a fourth investigation into the Fisker Ocean SUV, spurred by multiple claims of “inadvertent Automatic Emergency Braking.”

Fisker Ocean faces fourth federal safety probe

CoreWeave has formally opened an office in London that will serve as its European headquarters and home to two new data centers.

CoreWeave, a $19B AI compute provider, opens European HQ in London with plans for 2 UK data centers

The Series C funding, which brings its total raise to around $95 million, will go toward mass production of the startup’s inaugural products

AI chip startup DEEPX secures $80M Series C at a $529M valuation 

A dust-up between Evolve Bank & Trust, Mercury and Synapse has led TabaPay to abandon its acquisition plans of troubled banking-as-a-service startup Synapse.

Infighting among fintech players has caused TabaPay to ‘pull out’ from buying bankrupt Synapse

The problem is not the media, but the message.

Apple’s ‘Crush’ ad is disgusting

The Twitter for Android client was “a demo app that Google had created and gave to us,” says Particle co-founder and ex-Twitter employee Sara Beykpour.

Google built some of the first social apps for Android, including Twitter and others

WhatsApp is updating its mobile apps for a fresh and more streamlined look, while also introducing a new “darker dark mode,” the company announced on Thursday. The messaging app says…

WhatsApp’s latest update streamlines navigation and adds a ‘darker dark mode’

Plinky lets you solve the problem of saving and organizing links from anywhere with a focus on simplicity and customization.

Plinky is an app for you to collect and organize links easily

The keynote kicks off at 10 a.m. PT on Tuesday and will offer glimpses into the latest versions of Android, Wear OS and Android TV.

Google I/O 2024: How to watch

For cancer patients, medicines administered in clinical trials can help save or extend lives. But despite thousands of trials in the United States each year, only 3% to 5% of…

Triomics raises $15M Series A to automate cancer clinical trials matching

Welcome back to TechCrunch Mobility — your central hub for news and insights on the future of transportation. Sign up here for free — just click TechCrunch Mobility! Tap, tap.…

Tesla drives Luminar lidar sales and Motional pauses robotaxi plans

The newly announced “Public Content Policy” will now join Reddit’s existing privacy policy and content policy to guide how Reddit’s data is being accessed and used by commercial entities and…

Reddit locks down its public data in new content policy, says use now requires a contract